Reviews

Click here to write your own review


Slum Tour with my school

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2022

We did two Slum Tour in 2 days and the students said that it was clear, impressive and they want to help them afterwards instead of giving money to big charity projects. Collins and Alan gave the students a better world view by guiding them through Kibera. Keep up the good work! See you next year!

Sietske Zwiebel

Keep up the good work

Rated 5 out of 5
September 2022

Absolutely great what Colins and Evlyn are doing!

Gabe Itch

Thank you for this experience

Rated 5 out of 5
June 2022

Thank you Collin for the tour in the slums of Kibera. My students of Havo 2 in the Netherlands found it very interesting to see how different people can live around the world. It definitely expands their view of the world. In the beginning they were a bit nervous to ask the questions because english is not their language. You explained a lot to the students about living in Kibera, the chocolate city. Thank you for this experience and keep up the good work for the children in Kibera!

Georgina Fernie

Second time:)

Rated 5 out of 5
June 2022

This is the second time I’ve had the honor to invite Collins and Kenteh to my univeristy classes in Japan to show us their community and work. Students in my classes definitely experienced a transformation in their ways of viewing Kibera. They had a stereotypical and prejudiced impression before, but after hearing directly from Collins and Kenteh and seeing Kibera with their own eyes via Zoom, rather than through the filter of the media, they could realize there is more to the story than they had imagined. Many were so moved at the hope and joy in the faces of the children going to their school, One student who had visited Kibera before said that they wish they had visited Collins and Kenteh when they had been there. Collins and Kenteh are one hundred percent dedicated to their community and the children and many of my students said they hope they can work as hard with as much passion as they do. I myself feel the same.

Jennifer Teeter

Love it!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 2022

This was just great.

First: Cause you get 2 guides, you get 2 times the visual input. Also you never get an akward silence cause when 1 person is on his way, you listen to the other guide.

Second: You can interact with the guide. So when you can ask questions and get a real connection with the guides and the places.

Third: You get the REAL view with this tour.

conclusion: i am so happy i did this tour!

Dieter Maes

A trip to Chocolate City

Rated 5 out of 5
September 2021

Dear Collins and Evelyn, in March you organized a slum tour for my students, all future teachers. We thought we knew what it was like to live in a slum. But actually we didn’t know anything. Thanks to you we also saw creativity, courage, commitment and so on. A real eye opener that made us look further. 🙏 Next year I will definitely book another trip to Chocolate City! Hanne Rosius, PXL Education, Hasselt, Belgium

Hanne Rosius

Keep going !

Rated 5 out of 5
August 2021

I learn that no matter your living conditions, the basic human instincts will always be to help each other out. I was really touched by the explanations about the every day life. It takes also a lot of courage to help people around you, find resources and never give up hope.

I really enjoyed how the tour was run. It gives me the will of going there to see it with my own eyes and to come and help. I recommend it to anyone.

Lily Pellaud

A real eye opener and unforgettable experience

Rated 5 out of 5
August 2021

Covid has set a lot of boundaries and divides the world apart but because of Covid, I had the opportunity to participate in this online real-time tour. It was definitely an eye opener and an unforgettable experience. I got to see Kibera through the eyes of Collins and Coach Kenteh. From the tour, I could feel their love for their local community and their dedication/passion to improve the current conditions. They also talked about their projects especially the school project. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Nancy Lee

Thank you for the impressive stories

Rated 5 out of 5
May 2021

Dear Collins and Evlyn, Thank you for the online tours in Kibera. My geography students of the NHLStenden University of Applied Sciences were very impressed by the stories of you and Evlyn and it helped them broadening their image of the slums of Kibera. I hope a lot of fellow teachers book a tour with you! Keep up the good work with supporting your community. Kind regards, Luuk

Luuk de Vries

Keep up the good work

Rated 5 out of 5
May 2021

Absolutely great what Colins and Evlyn are doing!

AnToine van Maarle

 


Write your own review of your experience with Slum Tour Kibera